All News in March, 2018

Local Chamber Director Named One of the Top 25 Women in Business by Prairie Business Magazine


GRAND FORKS, N.D. — Prairie Business is proud to announce its 2018 Top 25 Women in Business winners. More details about each one are included in the March issue of the magazine, the digital edition of which is available here.

Now in its fifth year, the annual contest was created to draw attention to the many creative, successful businesswomen in North Dakota, South Dakota and western Minnesota.

Honorees were selected through a nomination process that emphasized professional achievement, community contributions and volunteerism. The 25 winners come from finance, construction, health care, retail and other industries, and have made exceptional contributions in their chosen fields and communities.

“We’re truly inspired by this year’s winners, all of whom are dedicated and high-achieving professionals,” said Tom Dennis, Prairie Business editor.

“We’re honored to showcase the winners and their achievements in the pages of this month’s magazine. Congratulations to them all.”

This year’s Top 25 Women in Business are:

● Becky Baker – Environmental Planner, KLJ, Sioux Falls, S.D.

● Haylee Cripe – Attorney and vice president, Mackoff Kellogg Law Firm, Dickinson, N.D.

● Amber Ferrie – Partner in transaction services, Eide Bailly, Fargo, N.D.

● Tiffany Ford – Associate state director, North Dakota Small Business Development Centers, Grand Forks, N.D.

● Laura Hagstrom – Water resources engineer, Widseth Smith Nolting, Alexandria, Minn.

● Jen Hanley – Technical manager, Ulteig, Fargo, N.D.

● Deidre Hillman – Program Director, North Dakota Women’s Business Center, Bismarck, N.D.

● Brittney Hogan – Executive Director, Minot Public Schools Foundation, Minot, N.D.

● Kristi Huber – President, United Way of Cass-Clay, Fargo, N.D.

● Vicki Karpyak – Senior Vice President and Director of Operations, First International Bank & Trust, Watford City, N.D.

● Dori Leslie – President/vice president, CHI Friendship, Fargo, N.D.

● Ann McConn – Executive Vice President and Chief Business Officer, Alerus, Fargo, N.D.

● Liza McLean – Co-owner, Smiling Moose Deli franchises, Grand Forks, N.D.

● Sarah Meusburger – Human Resources Director, Banner Associates, Brookings, S.D.

● Michelle Miller – Human Resources Divisional Director, KLJ, Bismarck, N.D.

● Cris Oehler – Vice President, Public Relations, Otter Tail Power Co., and Vice President, Corporate Communication, Otter Tail Corp., Fergus Falls, Minn.

● Alexis Odden – Audit Manager, Eide Bailly, Fargo, N.D.

● Erin Ostler – Vice President of Sales, Midco, Minneapolis

● Tari Rayala – Architectural Team Leader, Karvakko, Bemidji, Minn.

● Cindy Schreiber-Beck – President, CinderWhit Co., Wahpeton, N.D.

● Lorena Starkey – General Manager, Hyatt House Minot, Minot, N.D.

● Brooke Swier Schloss – Partner, Swier Law Firm, Sioux Falls, S.D.

● Karen Thingelstad – Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Minnkota Power Cooperative, Grand Forks, N.D.

● Paula Vistad – Executive Director, Devils Lake Area Chamber of Commerce, Devils Lake, N.D.

● Billi Jo Zielinski – President and CEO, Make-A-Wish North Dakota, Fargo, N.D.

Please join us from 5 to 8 p.m. on Thursday, May 17, in the Dakota Ballroom at the Avalon Events Center, 2525 9th Ave. S. in Fargo, N.D., to celebrate the 2018 Top 25 Women in Business and 2017 40 Under 40. It’s free! Food, drinks and fun. RSVP at

About Prairie Business magazine: For 17 years, Prairie Business magazine has served as the only business-to-business magazine dedicated to the northern Plains. More than 20,000 print and digital copies are distributed monthly. The magazine focuses on successes and opportunities in the northern Plains states of North Dakota, South Dakota and western Minnesota and covers a variety of business topics including higher education, finance, architecture and engineering, agribusiness, energy, health care, economic development, tourism, technology and construction.

Devils Lake Visitor Guide ADDY Award Winner


DEVILS LAKE, ND. – The Advertising Federation of North Dakota yearly ADDY Awards were held in Fargo on Friday, February 23. We are pleased to announce that the official 2018 Devils Lake Visitor Guide was entered into the brochure category and won a Gold Addy Award in the category. The piece was judged by Mike Weber, Creative Director from CMR Studios, Tampa Bay, Lindsey Anderson, Owner of Six Leaf Design out of Denver, Colorado, and Chris Schulles, Chief Creative Officer from McGuffin Creative Group.

Creative design credits go to Billie Michele Stanton, Graphic Designer as well as the Devils Lake Tourism Department – Suzie Kenner and Tanner Cherney. “We strive to put together an award winning piece every year, but our main focus is selling Devils Lake to the traveler. We want to showcase all that Devils Lake has to offer, on the water and off,” says Suzie Kenner, Executive Director of the Devils Lake Convention and Visitors Bureau. The department prints 40,000 copies annually and they are distributed in vacation packet requests through our website as well as, the North Dakota rest area program, sport and travel shows around the Midwest, our visitor center as well as all the other cities in the state, and can be downloaded digitally through our website and Facebook page.

“An important factor that we have taken into consideration the last few years is our photography. Producing high-end photography that we are able to use in print publications and on-line has been a great tool for us to engage the viewer and show off our attractions and activities in a creative way,” states Kenner.

Another piece to the puzzle is the use of the #devilslakend hashtag. The Devils Lake Tourism Department has been utilizing this hashtag on their own as well as finding creative ways to engage locals and visitors to upload their photographs on Instagram and tag their pictures. “It is a fun way to highlight other people’s experiences in Devils Lake to showcase true experiences by those traveling or living here,” Kenner states. “Photography through real experiences is a great way to showcase our area, and engage our audience.”

To see the full list of winners of the 2018 North Dakota Advertising Federation, click here. All gold-winning entries will move on to the district competition that will be judged on March 23, 2018 in Green Bay, Wisconsin, and winners announced on April 13, 2018.

For more information on the 2018 Devils Lake Visitor Guide, or to distribute them in your business, please contact Suzie Kenner or Tanner Cherney at 1.800.233.8048 for more information.

Pages from WinnersBook_2018ADDYs_FINAL


Recent News